Review: Why Does He Do That?: Inside the Minds of Angry and Controlling Men


Why Does He Do That?: Inside the Minds of Angry and Controlling Men
Why Does He Do That?: Inside the Minds of Angry and Controlling Men by Lundy Bancroft
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

OH, I am so excited that I FINALLY Finished this book!!!! It has been a long time coming. lol
It started out really hard to read… or rather just the introduction. I think it helped me actually feel better about my ex-marriage. I learned much about abuse of all and from all people. I have noticed during the (LONG) course of reading this book that I have been much more aware of certain aspects, characteristics and treatment of and from others. I think this book was very informative and bringing more awareness. I am so grateful that I have the ex-husband I have, that he never hurt me and did not create horrible lifelong physiological or physical damage. I have been however much more leery as I have been dating again the past 3 years since my divorce. Realizing within myself things I am willing to and not willing to put up with. Especially by observing more of my friends’ relationships and wondering how it was that my marriage ended while theirs many times are much worse than mine ever was. I think this book has really helped me directly relating to dating about being more aware of ‘red flags’ and realizing if I should continue to give certain guys a chance, hang on to them or let them go. One thing I do not like though… this book brought out in my mind at least more hesitancy… It almost makes you feel like there are not any good guys out there. 😦 Which I know there HAS to be! It brings out so many characteristics I see in almost everyone… a little thing here and there… really has me questioning things. That I do not like. The book was hard to read because it was so heavy and often dark in the horrible things that happen to people out there. I already have troubles trusting people, my main goal for reading this book was just for some help in recognizing things…. I think it did that but brought out more fears. However the optimist I am at heart says that now that I know of these things do not dwell on them, do not go out looking just for these things because that is all I will find. Nevertheless, just do not be an ostrige with my head stuck in the sand. I just need to go out there give people chances and honestly give them the benefit of the doubt until proven otherwise. I think this would be a great book for anyone who has been thru severe abuse (which I was not) and looking to understand what really they have been thru and that they are not alone. I think it validates abused women and children immensely and really gives you an insight there… Just do everything you cannot to loose all hope.

View all my reviews

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

PLAYING IN THE LIGHT

it is our choice what kind of world we live in. we can suffer in the darkness or play in the light. we can be angry, frightened and enslaved, or loving, joyous and free.

Brave New World Traveler

"Adventure is worthwhile in itself." - Amelia Earhart

Living in a Motorhome

Our life on the road

sweethomerv

A blog about our adventures of life in an RV and on the road.

Kayla Ross

pipeline follower • photographer • family + farm lover

At Home on the Road

Full Time Living in an RV

The Nomadic Nurse

Charting my way across the U.S.A.

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

We're Doing This

Living simply. In an RV. With a family of 4. Collecting coffeehouse insights.

The Two Who Wander

All Who Wander Are Not Lost. J.R.R. Tolkein

The Forever Learner

Seeking a Life of Learning, Wellness and Adventure

RETRO DAYS

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventures of Auntie M

I'm a new kind of old-fashioned girl.

a is for adventurista

seeking out the most spectacular of life's endeavors through the eyes of a twenty-something from tennessee.

A Girl Called Louie

Extraordinary adventures of a studious engineer, coffee/cookie enthusiast, and Jesus follower

Travel Abrodge

A One Way Ticket Around the World

