Review: Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy


Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy
Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy by Donald B. Kraybill
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow! What a great book! I feel that the authors did a great job researching the subject, the interviews and base knowledge greatly added to to understanding of the Amish people and their belief systems and ultimately more of who they are. I actually love books about the Amish. I used to live within 45 minutes of Lancaster and have always been amazed at these wonderful people. In addition I think that they authors did a fabulous job compiling all the research, and interviews together. The book flowed very well and kept me engaged, yearning to read just a little longer and when I finished with the strengthened desire to improve my own weaknesses and let go of things.

I started this a few months ago, then life got so busy I wasn’t able to finish it by the time it expired. By the time that I received it again from the library hold it was only a few days before the Aurora, Colorado Shooting at the Premier of the Batman movie. What a surreal moment it was finding out about the devistation in Colorado. I had already been reliving the horror of the 2006 Amish Masacre near my home. I remember thinking back then thoughts like, “Are you kidding me?” “Who would ever want to hurt any of the sweet Amish that wouldn’t even hurt a bug?! Let alone 10 harmless little girls!” “Wow, if that can happen there – none of us have an ounce of safety.” It was amazing to see my exact thoughts echoed in the book. That Friday morning when Aurora was announced (I saw it on Facebook – I generally don’t watch the news). I remember thinking is this a joke because I’m reading this book? What horrible events.

It was amazing to see the different responses though Lancaster vs Aurora. In Lancaster it was an outpouring of outrage, but also love and forgiveness… In Aurora it was outrage again, but this time mixed in with hatred and vengenouce. Of course anyone who commits this sort of horendous act is obviously very mentally ill (that should never really be a plea…) they would have to be mentally ill to even conceive of such actions. Of course justice needs to be met. But all the hatred, vengence, retaliation, etc. Isn’t healthy for anyone. The person that commits these acts don’t care, in fact they kind of get off on it. Those feelings merely eat the person/people feeling it from the inside out creating worse situations down the road. My point is, when these horrid things happen, or even smaller every day actions. How are we responding to them? How are we chosing to be? When we look in the mirror at night, is that the person we want looking back at us.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. Let us offer a little mercy, understanding and forgiveness to all those we come in contact with.

As a side note to the massacre’s check out Glenn Beck‘s comments and how and when I learned of the incident. http://www.glennbeck.com/2012/07/20/twelve-dead-at-midnight-screening-of-new-batman-movie/

View all my reviews

Categories: Career, Family, Preparedness, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

PLAYING IN THE LIGHT

it is our choice what kind of world we live in. we can suffer in the darkness or play in the light. we can be angry, frightened and enslaved, or loving, joyous and free.

Brave New World Traveler

"Adventure is worthwhile in itself." - Amelia Earhart

Living in a Motorhome

Our life on the road

sweethomerv

A blog about our adventures of life in an RV and on the road.

Kayla Ross

pipeline follower • photographer • family + farm lover

At Home on the Road

Full Time Living in an RV

The Nomadic Nurse

Charting my way across the U.S.A.

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

We're Doing This

Living simply. In an RV. With a family of 4. Collecting coffeehouse insights.

The Two Who Wander

All Who Wander Are Not Lost. J.R.R. Tolkein

The Forever Learner

Seeking a Life of Learning, Wellness and Adventure

retrodays.in/

Musings about life and style

Adventures of Auntie M

I'm a new kind of old-fashioned girl.

a is for adventurista

seeking out the most spectacular of life's endeavors through the eyes of a twenty-something from tennessee.

A Girl Called Louie

Extraordinary adventures of a studious engineer, coffee/cookie enthusiast, and Jesus follower

Travel Abrodge

A One Way Ticket Around the World

