Review: The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People


The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People
The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People by Gary Chapman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve been a fan of Gary Chapman and his 5 Love Languages since I was introduced to them at the age of 18 in 1999. How grateful I am to my friends and their recommendation! It’s been one of the best blessings in my relationships & life!

Naturally because of my admiration of Dr. Chapman

English: Gary Chapman speaking at an Associati...

English: Gary Chapman speaking at an Association of Marriage and Family Ministries conference in 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

‘s work I was intrigued with this idea and concept. I found that it was very applicable and fun learning more about each of the 5 languages and how to more effectively communicate appreciation to my colleagues that I spend so much time with, even if I am a bit of a hermit at work. I am very aware of those that assist me and so appreciative of their efforts! I also know that I am happier in my workplace and with the efforts that I also put forth when I know that I’m also appreciated. I’m very hard on myself and expect a lot out of myself. Unfortunately I’m not always my own best friend. Positive reinforcement and appreciation goes a LONG way with me!

My love languages are acts of service and quality time, which are not always easy to express or receive in the work place. Especially with me sticking to myself until I don’t feel like I’m the new girl trying to prove that I am capable and make a difference.

I think this book is a great asset to have under your tool belt and I can definitely see the the many positive affects that it might place in motion when implemented throughout a company, albeit slightly awkward at first.

The first 3/4 of the book, was great and hard to put down. It moved quickly was engaging and fascinating. It all remained fascinating and very easy application steps and follow. The last 1/4 of the book moved very slowly. But still really great book! Highly Recommend. I actually immediately bought myself a audio and print version of this book upon completion! 🙂

(Actually Finished August 8th 2013)

View all my reviews

Categories: Beauty of the World, Business, Career, Education, Health & Nutrition, Humanity, Life, Relationships, Schooling, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People

  1. Jennifer, thanks for your review of our book. Glad you liked it (at least, the first 3/4!) As we work with groups across the country (and world), we find that the key to successfully communicate appreciation and encouragement is to find the actions that are most meaningful to the recipient. So we’ve upgraded the Motivating By Appreciation Inventory (the book comes with a code to take it), to identify the specific actions within a person’s primary language and from whom they desire those actions. When have a chance, take the MBA Inventory and maybe write a blog about your experience. Thanks! Paul White, PhD, co-author, The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace.

    • Dr. White,

      Thank you for responding to my post! I am so excited that not only you took the time to read it, but reply! I did really like the book, 3/4 is REALLY high for me! But I’m pretty sure I gave this one a 5/5… 🙂 My copy of the book just came in the mail last week with my code to take the Motivating By Appreciation Inventory. The copy I borrowed from my library did not have a code that I was able to utilize. I thought about taking it earlier, but was unsure of how to do so. As soon as I get a spare moment it’s on my “Must Do List”! I would be happy to write an additional blog about that experience! Thank you again and I look forward to possible future communication and the MBA Inventory!

      Best Wishes,
      Jen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

PLAYING IN THE LIGHT

it is our choice what kind of world we live in. we can suffer in the darkness or play in the light. we can be angry, frightened and enslaved, or loving, joyous and free.

Brave New World Traveler

"Adventure is worthwhile in itself." - Amelia Earhart

Living in a Motorhome

Our life on the road

sweethomerv

A blog about our adventures of life in an RV and on the road.

Kayla Ross

pipeline follower • photographer • family + farm lover

At Home on the Road

Full Time Living in an RV

The Nomadic Nurse

Charting my way across the U.S.A.

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Live Laugh RV

Our next Chapter

We're Doing This

Living simply. In an RV. With a family of 4. Collecting coffeehouse insights.

The Two Who Wander

All Who Wander Are Not Lost. J.R.R. Tolkein

The Forever Learner

Seeking a Life of Learning, Wellness and Adventure

RETRO DAYS

Just another WordPress.com site

Adventures of Auntie M

I'm a new kind of old-fashioned girl.

a is for adventurista

seeking out the most spectacular of life's endeavors through the eyes of a twenty-something from tennessee.

A Girl Called Louie

Extraordinary adventures of a studious engineer, coffee/cookie enthusiast, and Jesus follower

Travel Abrodge

A One Way Ticket Around the World

